Taking the plunge

Posted: October 15, 2012 in School sagas
Tags: , , ,

Quick, what do you think of when you think of med students?

If you had asked me this a year ago, a few months into starting my Master’s in biomechanics, I would have likely answered: chronically sleep-deprived; driven; type A. I once jokingly told my fiancee, “I am terrified of med school. They’re all going to be like me, and I can’t stand being around me all the time!” Luckily for my mental health, I found something very different.

Here I am, officially one month and 12 days into classes, and I have met some amazing – and varied – people. I have met people with rich social lives, people with unique and interesting hobbies, and people from all walks of life. I can safely say I have been invited to more parties in the last month and a half than in my entire undergraduate career. I can also say that I have gone to most of these parties, largely because of the caliber of people I am surrounded by. Who would have thought med school is the place to go to party?

I knew when I got my acceptance email (this is the 21st century after all), that my life was going to change drastically. What I didn’t know, however, was how incredibly positive these changes have been. I didn’t realize how quickly my fellow students – my friends, colleagues, support network – were going to be integrated into my life. With all of their own quirks and idiosyncrasies, they have quickly become sort of an adoptive family; and while you can’t always choose your family, somehow you end up loving them anyways.

Here’s to another few years with these chronically sleep-deprived, driven type A’s.

Comments
  1. Julie Frayn says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere darling Cassidy. You? Type A? Say it ain’t so…

  2. Very happy that this is a positive experience for you and I hope and trust it will remain so. The world can always use positive thinking medical professionals. Best of luck to you and your fellow students! -J Timothy Quirk

  3. Monica Wagner says:

    I can’t imagine where you could have inherited that Type “A” tendency from, but you carry it well.

  4. Can’t imagine… 🙂 just keep your beautiful face smiling, you’re going to rock the world sweetheart.

Leave a comment